Review of The Amazing Spider-Man: Secret Origins

Leave a comment

September 9, 2014 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

amazing spider man cover

The Amazing Spider-Man: Secret Origins published by Marvel.  Published May 2012.  ISBN 978-0594519911. Softcover with 144 pages, color illustrations.  I got mine as a bargain book from Barnes & Noble for $5 and some change.

Collects Amazing Fantasy (1962) #15; Amazing Spider -Man (1963) #6, #82, #90, and material from #8; Spectacular Spider -Man (2003) #27.

synopsis:  Just in time for the upcoming cinematic blockbuster “The Amazing Spider-Man” comes this volume spotlighting the Web-Head’s colorful cast of characters, and introducing the film’s principal players! Swing along with Spidey as he gains new and frightening powers, tangles with the likes of the Lizard, Electro, and Captain George Stacey – not to mention perennial thorn-in-the-side Flash Thompson – and honors the memory of his beloved Uncle Ben!

The Amazing Spider-Man: Secret Origins was a really fun collection to read.  And while I’m super new to reading Spider-Man and superhero comics in general, I was definitely able to follow along despite the included issues being non-sequential.

However, as much as I liked The Amazing Spider-Man comics, I’m not sure if I’m going to read more.  I’m big time intimidated at the decades and decades of Spider-Man there is to catch up on.  Although, truth be told, I’m really only interested in reading the original stuff that Lee & Ditko, and later Lee & Romita, collaborated on.  I assume these issues will be from the 60s, although I’m such a noob when it comes to the minutiae of superhero comics (more on that below) that I don’t know when Lee & Ditko’s collaboration ended and Lee & Romita’s began and also later ended.

Still, a part of me feels that I really can’t call myself a comic book fan or aficionado until I read TONS more superhero comics from the 60s.  (I’m primarily interested in Marvel’s Spider-Man, the X-Men, and The Fantastic Four.  I don’t have much interest in the DC Universe beyond The Green Lantern).  All I’ve learned about superhero comics I’ve gleaned from Comic Books 101 (review here). I sometimes still feel like a big ol’ noob, still an outsider.

The Amazing Spider-Man: Secret Origins includes bonus pages from the Official Handbook of the Marvel Universe that will give you the 411 (is “411” now an archaic slang term?!) on Spider-Man’s history. The bonus pages include 13 pages for Spider-Man, and anywhere from between 1 – 3 pages for Lizard, Flash Thompson, Gwen Stacy, George Stacy, May Parker, Ben Parker, and Richard and Mary Parker.  While I did read all the comics, I have not read the bonus pages yet because I don’t want any spoiler alerts should I decide to read more Spider-Man.

The Amazing Spider-Man: Secret Origins is definitely recommended for those new to superhero comics, especially if you can still pick it up at the bargain book price of $5 at Barnes & Noble.

 

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
