Review of The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Leave a comment

October 12, 2014 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

the help book coverTHE HELP by Kathyrn Stockett and published by the Berkley Publishing Group.  ISBN 978-0425245132. Move tie-in paperback edition, 534 pages. Publication date:  June 28, 2011.

I read THE HELP a few years ago and as I recall, I quite liked it.  I definitely would have given it a 4-star, maybe even 5-star review at that time. However, my re-read is most definitely not going well.  This passage caused me to groan and just give up:

“I stand in front of the window and unbutton my blouse.  Carefully, I turn the dial to ‘3.’  Because I long to feel nothing.  I want to be frozen inside.  I want the icy cold to blow directly on my heart.” [p 325]

Yup, page 325.  I might add there are still 200+ pages too go.  I love a big thick book, but this book might could’ve used a bit of editing to shorten its length.  I kept plodding along, but reading THE HELP was beginning to feel like a chore (no pun intended). Although admittedly, some of the story was enjoyable and I was emotionally moved a few times.

I skimmed some unfavorable reviews and I can’t help but agreeing with some of the negative things that other readers pointed out — mostly related to dialect, character development, and length of story.  I suppose I didn’t notice these things the first time around.  But now I can’t help it.  And it bugs me to the point that I really can’t enjoy the story so this book is a DNF.  However, the book has over 6,000 5-star ratings on amazon and over half a million (!!) 5-star reviews on goodreads, so clearly this book has been enjoyed by many people.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
