Review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone #1

Leave a comment

October 15, 2014 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

HP sorcerers stone 1HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE by J.K. Rowling and published by Scholastic Inc on September 8, 1999.  320 pages.

Okay so I was WAY late to the Harry Potter party — back story on my tardiness here.  So even though it’s only been 6 – 7 months since I first read the series, I decided a re-read was in order. Plus, I noticed in my goodreads’s newsfeed that some of my friends are binge reading the series too.  I could not resist the temptation to join in, so here we are, 3 days later, and I’ve re-read the entire first book, HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE.  I read purely for fun, and did not keep my pen and notebook by my side.

I’ll admit, I struggled a bit in the beginning, but I think that’s because a re-read (especially with the Harry Potter series) can’t truly recapture all the wonder, excitement, and discovery as when you read the book for the first time.  However, by the time I got to chapter 12 and Harry finds the Mirror of Erised, I was hooked, I had the FEELS big time.  And when Dumbledore said to Harry: “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that,” my eyes teared up a bit. And that wasn’t the last time they teared up re-reading SORCERER’S STONE. I got the FEELS!

Another line that caught my attention was this one, it made me laugh out loud:  “I’ve decided to call him Norbert,” said Hagrid, looking at the dragon with misty eyes. “He really knows me now, watch. Norbert! Norbert! Where’s Mummy?”  Hagrid is such a terrific person/character. I really like the bond that he and Harry have. I suppose Hagrid feels a strong connection to Harry since he was the one to deliver Harry to Dumbledore (and Professor McGonagall) to leave on the front porch of the Dursley’s.

My Harry Ptter binge re-read is on pause for the moment as e-book #2 is not available at the library — thankfully I’m next on the waitlist. I’m definitely going to have to have some serious waitlist strategy to have a successful binge read without any lag between books. I’ll have to plan ahead and put myself on the waitlist well before I’m near finished — at our library, you can put yourself on the waitlist for an e-books, and once the title becomes available, it can be held for up 3 days. I really hope I can read them one right after the other.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
