Review of I Used to be Afraid

1

September 16, 2015 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

IUTBA coverI Used to be Afraid by Laura Vaccaro Seeger. Published by Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group. Hardcover picture book with 40 pages, full color illustrations. Target age range is 3 – 7 years old. On-sale date is September 29, 2015.

I was very much attracted to the concept of this book, however it’s content disappointed me. So many of these “I used to be afraid…. but not anymore” relationships just didn’t make any sense to me.

For example: I have no idea how a little girl who is afraid of spiders will suddenly not be afraid of them when she sees an intricate spider web — especially since there’s still a spider on the web! What is it specifically about the web that causes the little girl to suddenly overcome her fear of spiders?

Likewise, I have no idea how a little girl who is afraid of change (her family is moving) will not be afraid when she is unpacking her things in her new room.

I also wasn’t crazy about the artistic style and cut-outs used in this book.

More info about the book + interior page previews on the publisher’s site.

I Used to be Afraid is available for purchase on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Disclosure: I received a complimentary review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.

One thought on “Review of I Used to be Afraid

  1. AmberBug says:

    I would be completely annoyed by that too. You don’t just STOP being afraid! How about the author gives a little insight as to how to overcome fears?!

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
