Review of 100 Things to Draw with a Circle

4

May 1, 2016 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

cover for 100 things to draw with a circle

100 Things to Draw with a Circle is Sarah Walsh’s follow-up to her 100 Things to Draw with a Triangle (my review here) that released in December 2015. Who knows what shape could be featured next?!

100 Things to Draw with a Circle is a “sketch book” with over 100 pages of circle “doodle prompts.” The pages are dotted with circles — big and small, many and few, patterned and plain, and in all sorts of positions on the page. You have complete creative freedom to interpret the circle(s) however you wish and add your own inky lines to create a picture.

In case you need a little boost to get your creative juices flowing, there are some examples (not shown) and two warm-up exercises to get you going.

I just love looking at all the different pages (each page is like an abstract work of art!) and thinking of all the things the circles could be. It’s really thrilling that there is so much possibility! Admittedly, I think that’s why I haven’t put pen to paper yet… I’m not ready to commit, but I will soon.

I forgot to ask my contact at the Quarry for exact paper specs (I will update this review once I find out) but I can tell you the paper is a medium-weight.
[paper specs update: The paper is 140gsm IKPP woodfree uncoated paper and the book covers are 300gsm Da Dou artcard, uncoated on both sides.]

I did test a variety of water-based pens and markers to check for shadowing and bleed through. There was zero bleed through but admittedly I can’t state with confidence about shadowing because I did my testing on the copyright page and the reverse side is light brown in color.

However, there was very minimal shadowing with Staedtler tripus color markers (review to come), Stabilo 68 pens, and Crayola Fine Line Markers.

Staedtler triplus fineliners (review to come), Stabilo 88 pensColor Luxe Fine Tip gel pens, and the Sakura gelly roll pens (classic, metallic, moonlight) did not shadow at all.

WHERE TO BUY: 100 Things to Draw With a Circle by Sarah Walsh. Published by Quarry, an imprint of the Quarto Publishing Group USA. On sale date: May 1, 2016. Available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Connect with Sarah Walsh: website, facebook, instagram, tumblr

Connect with Quarto Publishing group: website, facebook, twitter

More books by Sarah Walsh: Click here to see Sarah’s other books published by the Quarto Publishing Group USA.

mosaic for 5 books by sarah walsh

Disclosure: I received a complimentary review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are my own.

Thanks for stopping by — consider following my blog so you don’t miss any of my reviews! The follow button is located near the top right of the page, directly below the search box – if you are on a mobile device the follow button is likely at the very bottom of this post or at the very bottom of my homepage. 

4 thoughts on “Review of 100 Things to Draw with a Circle

  1. Laura Stotlar Bagby says:

    I love to make circles! I have been painting circular things for a long time: marbles, balls, anything I could think of. This looks like a fun book!

  2. rdrlv says:

    Seems like circles is the first thing I used to make a pic as a child had my own special box to put them in. Ahh good memory.
    So needless to say I like circles☺

    • Beth says:

      Aw, that’s sweet. Thanks for sharing your memory with me and with the other people who will read this post and see your comment.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
