Darling, I Love You: Poems from the Hearts of Our Glorious Mutts and All Our Animal Friends

1

March 1, 2017 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

cover-for-darling-i-love-you

Internationally acclaimed poet and translator Daniel Ladinsky (never heard of him) and Patrick McDonnell (of MUTTS comic strip fame) pair up and present to us Darling, I Love You: Poems from the Hearts of Our Glorious Mutts and All Our Animal Friends.

The poems are about G-d and nature, the love we have for our pets, and how our pets feel about us and their surroundings.

I am saddened to say that (for me) this book was just meh and mostly forgettable. Tis true that some of the poems/haikus and accompanying illustrations were breathtaking but (for me) those were few and far between.

darling-i-love-you-1

darling-i-love-you-2

darling-i-love-you-3

I love the MUTTS comic strip. I love my (rescue) dog. And while I’m not a huge fan of poetry I do like modern-ish short quirky poems. So it’s a bit odd that I’m not smitten for this collection. Maybe if I pick this book back up at another time I’d feel completely different. I don’t know.

Also, the retail price point of $17 is just plain shocking. This is a *very* slim paperback book with deckle edge paper. Deckle edge paper is when the paper has rough and uneven edges — design choices like this by the publisher used to be charming but now I just find deckle edge paper trite.

Where to buy: Amazon USA, Barnes & Noble, and elsewhere online.

Disclosure: I received a complimentary review copy from the publisher. I was not obligated or required to write a review. The opinions are my own.

Thanks for stopping by. I invite you to follow my blog so you don’t miss any of my new posts. The follow button is located near the top right of the page, directly below the search box.

One thought on “Darling, I Love You: Poems from the Hearts of Our Glorious Mutts and All Our Animal Friends

  1. Nancy Rose says:

    maybe it needed drop dead cute photos of adorable pets!

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
