Veganize It!: Easy DIY Recipes for a Plant-Based Kitchen

Leave a comment

March 1, 2017 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

cover-for-veganize-it-easy-diy-recipes-for-a-plant-based-kitchen-by-robin-robertson

At first glance I was smitten with Robin Robertson’s new cookbook, Veganize It!: Easy DIY Recipes for a Plant-Based Kitchen. The book has such a different look from her other cookbooks with modern looking graphic design and a fair amount of full-color food photos. But upon actually sitting down and reading it cover to cover I am reluctant to say that I am no longer smitten.

First off, sadly, it seems that Robin has gotten aboard the train to Cashew Town. Many of the recipes call for cashews** and, as someone with a peanut + all tree-nuts allergy, I am so ready for the cashew trend to be so over. Secondly, the content just didn’t feel fresh and new — likely because Robin has over two dozen cookbooks and many of the recipes looked familiar to me.

(**For those of you who don’t know, cashews are a seemingly magical ingredient in vegan cooking and they have been popping up in ingredient lists with alarming (at least to me) frequency. (Isa Does It I’m looking at you.) There are different ways to prep the cashews (soaking them in water for hours before blending them verses just pulverizing them raw) but cashews can be a base for nut-based vegan cheeses, sauces and gravies, and so much more. OF COURSE there are plenty of vegan recipes in lots of cookbooks that don’t call for cashews but it always seems that the recipes I want to try call for cashews.)

That being said, I do think folks who are newly vegan (or who don’t have many of Robin’s other cookbooks or who don’t have nut allergies) will very much appreciate and enjoy Veganize It! I do have four of Robin’s other cookbooks and love them.

Veganize It!  goes on sale March 7, 2017 and is available at Amazon USA, Barnes & Noble, and other sites online.

Connect online: Robin Robertson | Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Disclosure: I received a complimentary book from the publisher. I was not required nor obligated to write a review. The opinions are my own.

Thanks for stopping by. I invite you to follow my blog so you don’t miss any of my new posts. The follow button is located near the top right of the page, directly below the search box.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
