Books I Have Loved and Lost

Leave a comment

April 2, 2017 by I SNIFF BOOKS - Beth

Truthfully I’m not one to lose things (I’m a double, triple, quadruple checker — perhaps the one slight benefit of having OCD) but Books I have Loved and Lost sounds a lot more melancholy and romantic than Books I Have Loved and Donated and/or Deliberately Left Behind.

A wise man (Alfred Lord Tennyson) once said, “Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” But man oh man do I miss some of my books!! I long to have them all back sitting on my shelves.

All-of-a-Kind Family by Sidney Taylor

This particular edition of All-of-a-Kind Family is actually a book I never even had to begin with. The book I am lamenting is from an e-bay auction I lost probably fifteen years ago. (I know, I need to move on.) The book was described as a hardback first edition in excellent condition. There may have been mention of full-page full-color illustrations. I am deeply sad I lost this auction. From what I recall the book wasn’t even that expensive — maybe it was listed for around $12 – $20. A bargain considering the condition and nostalgic factor.

Pi (the screenplay and the diaries) by Darren Aronofsky

A million years ago, after my ex-boyfriend and I broke up and I was moving out, I deliberately left this book behind for him to read. (The book came out about a year after the movie released.) Pi introduced me to the game Go. I bought the game and even went to some Go meetings/gatherings in my hometown. (Random interesting fact: It was at these Go gatherings that I met Coffee Shop Guy). But getting back to the book. I miss the book deeply. It has been out-of-print for ages. And yes I know I could probably easily procure a used copy online but I am big ol’ weirdo when it comes to used books (and library books for that matter, but that’s a whole other story and blog post entirely.)

All my middle grade books

The Harry Potter saga has taught me many things but one thing it (or I suppose really J.K Rowling) has taught me is that sometimes a story is so good, so incredible that it transcends its target age range and be can enjoyed (and cherished) by anyone. So after reading Harry Potter I re-discovered some of my childhood favorites like the All-of-a-Kind family series by Sidney Taylor, Are You There God? It’s me Margaret by Judy Blume, and let’s not forget my epic re-read of Charley (also published as The Girl Who Ran Away) by Joan G. Robinson. I also discovered new-to-me middle grade classics like A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett, Becoming Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo, and The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford.

But I would like to revisit all the middle grade books that used to sit on my shelves. I know the Sweet Valley Twins books were there. And later the Sweet Valley High books. The Babysitter Club books and all those thrillers by Christopher Pike — Remember Me was a cult classic. Books by Judy Blume and Beverly Cleary. The Littlest Gymnast by Sheila Haigh. Behind the Attic Wall by Sylvia Cassedy. My copy of Charley as I mentioned above. And who knows what else sat on those shelves. What I do know is that I packed up all those middle grade books and dropped them off at a used bookstore located near my then hometown with a promise from the clerk that they would assess my books soon and send me the credit voucher in the mail. Sigh. You know what happened. I never got that credit voucher and those books were gone, gone, gone.

Assorted non-fiction books

It’s hard to believe that I was once pregnant — it just seems like a dream or something from another lifetime. It goes without saying that my husband and I were so excited about the pregnancy. In our excitement, we (prematurely) completely cleared out an entire room in our house to be the nursery. That room had a bookcase in it filled with our books. We gladly took our books down to make room for all the picture books and whatnots that would soon fill those shelves. Some of those books were able to find new homes on other bookcases scattered around the house, but we ended up boxing up a lot of the books and donating them. It seems selfish now, but sometimes I really do miss those books. Especially since in my (brief) glow and giddiness of being preggers, I don’t think I was overly careful in choosing which books to keep and which books to give away. There are some books I definitely miss like Medicine Quest: In Search of Nature’s Healing Secrets by Mark J. Plotkin, Diet for a Small Planet by Frances Moore Lappé, and a textbook on ethnobotany; but I more wonder about the books that I can’t remember.

What about you? Do you have any books that you have loved and lost? Let me know in the comments. 

Thanks for stopping by. I invite you to follow my blog so you don’t miss any of my new posts. The follow button is located near the top right of the page, directly below the search box.

Leave a Comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Copyright Info

All content on this site is owned by the blogger. To request permission to use her words (or photos) as excerpts, blurbs, re-posts, or anything else please use the contact form. © 2014 – 2017. All rights reserved.
